GAME by Perfume – Album Review

One of the most popular bands dominating the Japanese ORICON charts is Perfume, a three-woman group with the famous Yatsutaka Nakata backing their vocals with a epiphany of beats, syncs, and computer-generated upbeat notes. What makes this group distinctively different from any other girl-group is that they modify their voices, auto-tune their voices, yes, but they do it in such a way that it makes them sound more robotic with the addition of their adorable voices and the product is music that’s catchy, cute, positive, and energetic.

Out of all the albums Perfume has ever released, my favorite is their GAME album for the variety of songs included and their ability to transition into one kind of genre while still maintaining their electropop/pop sound. GAME is their second album, released in 2008, but still very popular. A lot of my favorite songs are included in this album, so it immediately became my favorite. One of the first songs I heard from them was Chocolate Disco, which is included in GAME, and Secret Secret — both songs I love with all my heart. The MVs for these songs are even better.

The GAME album includes:

  1. Polyrhythm (ポリリズム)
  2. plastic smile
  3. GAME
  4. Baby cruising Love
  5. Chocolate Disco (チョコレイト・ディスコ)
  6. Macaroni (マカロニ)
  7. Ceramic Girl (セラミックガール)
  8. Take me Take me
  9. Secret Secret (シークレットシークレット)
  10. Butterfly
  11. Twinkle Snow Powdery Snow
  12. Puppy love

If you’re a first time J-pop listener, or curious about J-pop, I highly suggest listening to Perfume first — they have songs to fit all different tastes. One song, Butterfly, has more of an exotic-island feel which, combined with electropop, creates a symphony in your ears. Twinkle Snow Powdery Snow moves into kind of a spirited-holiday theme, but not completely. Check this album out as soon as possible!

Share on Facebook